Honey Mustard Irish Chicken

25 Jul

We celebrated Pioneer Day today. It started out a little rocky – our AC went out yesterday. Not very convenient timing, considering we are in the hottest months of summer, and I’m not one who emulates the long-suffering of those celebrated Pioneers…when I’m hot, I’m cranky. So, instead of waiting, we called the 24 hour guys and paid a little extra for the inconvenience. Huzzah.

We closed the doors on our house as the repaired AC worked over time to cool things off, and set up some lawn chairs to enjoy the fireworks being set off in our neighborhood. The night cooled off nicely, and my irritation of the day began to fade. And then, I heard my little five year old. “Oh…aren’t they beautiful?” I almost cried…isn’t that silly? But it wasn’t, “Wow, cool.” or “Awesome!” That specific word, “beautiful,” just got to me. I had been missing most of the beauty in my day because I was so focused on being grumpy. And then, to push my blubbering over the edge, my three year old looked into the sky and sighed. “Mom! A star. I love this night.” Big, colorful explosions or a small, single star – kids find beauty. This is why God makes us parents – so we don’t forget to look around every now and again, regardless if we’re hot. 🙂

Because I have AC again, I can actually use my stove without worrying about creating a heat wave. I love when you can make dinner in a single pan! That is beautiful to me.

photo 2

Ingredients
1/4 cup honey
1 tablespoon coarse-ground mustard
1/2 tablespoon salt
1/4 teaspoon pepper
2 tablespoons butter, divided
1 lb chicken breasts
1 pound (about 8) small red potatoes, quartered
3 carrots, peeled and cut into 3/4-inch chunks
1 onion, cut into 1-inch wedges
Combine honey, mustard, salt and pepper in small bowl; set aside. Melt 1 tablespoon of butter in large skillet over medium-high heat. Add chicken; cook for about 4 minutes on each side until the chicken is lightly browned. Transfer chicken to a plate. Melt remaining 1 tablespoon butter in the same skillet. Add vegetables; cook, stirring occasionally for 6 to 8 minutes, or until lightly browned. Place chicken breasts on top of the vegetables. Pour the honey mixture over the chicken and vegetables. Cover; reduce heat to low and cook, stirring the vegetables once, for about 10 to 12 minutes, or until vegetables are tender and chicken is thoroughly cooked.

photo 3

Leave a comment