Corn Dogs

17 Jul

I think I’ve discovered a new species of fly. I call it: the Hydra-House Fly. I swear, for every fly I swat, three more take its place. Where are they coming from?!!!!

Flies are, unfortunately, a part of summer. Especially in my house, where it is (apparently) physically impossible to close the door behind you. That’s the bad part of summer. The good part? Sunshine, swimming, picnics…corn dogs. This recipe comes from my Grandma. The batter makes for a lighter corn bread that is airy and crispy and all around uber-tasty.

photo 2

 

Ingredients:

2 – 1 lb pkgs hot dogs

20 skewers

1 cup flour

3/4 cup cornmeal

2 Tbsp sugar

1 Tbsp dry mustard

2 tsp baking powder

1 tsp salt

2 Tbsp shortening

1 cup milk

1 beaten egg

Mix dry ingredients. Cut in shortening. Add milk and ddd. Stir to remove lumps. Skewer hot dogs and dip into batter. *Tip* Fill a drinking glass with the batter and dip the hot dogs down into the cup for better coverage. The batter will also adhere best if hot dogs are completely dry.

Fry in oil until golden brown – about 2 minutes.

photo 3

2 Responses to “Corn Dogs”

  1. Christopher P Lawson July 19, 2014 at 8:43 pm #

    I keep meaning to try and make some looks good 🙂

    • seden2003 July 20, 2014 at 12:42 am #

      Do it!!! They are a lot easier than I expected and are actually done faster than the nasty-o frozen ones 🙂 That means, no excuses left! Let me know how they turn out.

Leave a Reply

