Blueberry Banana Bread

29 Apr

My five-year-old asked me today, “Mom, why do we always have to do everything you tell us to do?” This was after I told the kids they couldn’t play until they cleaned up the toy room. I know…worst mom ever! At first I told her, “Because I’m Mom, that’s why.” But then I decided to provide some enlightenment. I asked her if she knew what I did all day. “I cook for you, I clean up your messes, I do your laundry, I drive you places, I buy you fun prizes sometimes at the store, I take you to the library and the playground, I sit outside with you while you ride bikes, I let you play with friends while I do the dishes, I vacuum, I scrub toilets, I take care of you when you are sick…” We came up with a  pretty good list. And then I said, “Sometimes, I figure the least you can do is do what I say.” She gave me a pretty awesome pout, but decided not to argue. And someday, she’s going to call me on the phone and say, “Mom, guess what my five year old said to me today?” And I’m going to smile and say, “Serves you right. Love you!” 🙂

Blueberries and banana bread; they go together like kids and questions. Only the bread will always turn out great, even if the answers to your kids questions could use some work. 😉

photo 1

Ingredients:

1 3/4 cups flour

1 tsp baking powder

1/8 tsp baking soda

1/4 tsp salt

1/2 cup butter, at room temperature

1 cup sugar

2 eggs

1/4 cup buttermilk

1/2 tsp vanilla

3 ripe bananas, mashed

1 cup blueberries

Preheat oven to 350^F. Lightly coat five 3/4-inch mini loaf pans with non-stick spray.

In a large bowl, combine flour, baking powder, baking soda, and salt – set aside. Beat butter and sugar together until light and fluffy. Beat in eggs, buttermilk, and vanilla until well combined. Beat in bananas until well combined. Gradually add flour mixture to sugar mixture, beating just until incorporated. Add blueberries, and gently toss to combine.

Scoop the batter evenly into prepared loaf pans. Bake for 30-35 minutes, or until center tester comes out clean.

Leave a Reply

