Egg Rolls

11 Jan

Sometimes I want to crawl into the bottom drawer in my bathroom and live there for a little while. For some reason, it is the warmest place in my house. The cabinet next to it is the second warmest place, and I find myself feeling more than a little twinge of jealousy when I discover my kids having a little warming siesta inside. I just hate being cold.

This was my second attempt at egg rolls, my first being not so successful. They had no flavor, and the recipe called for a flour/water mixture that made the filling taste strange. Needless to say, I conveniently ‘forgot’ where I put that recipe and worked on a new one. I got an, “Oh, much better,” from my husband for this one. 🙂 I adjusted it from a more complicate recipe because I’m a corner-cutter like that and sometimes you just want egg rolls without having to spend 4 hours preparing them! And I’m really please with the results! photo 3

Ingredients:

1/4 tsp ground ginger

2 cloves garlic, finely chopped

1/4 cup chicken broth

2 Tbsp soy sauce

1 Tbsp sugar

1-2 Tbsp sesame oil

1 medium sized pork chop, cut into small cubes

2 cups coleslaw mix

egg roll wrappers

In a small bowl, combine first 6 ingredients and mix until sugar is dissolved. In a medium skillet, add sauce to pork pieces and cook through, adding coleslaw the last couple of minutes being careful not too cook too long or the cabbage will become limp. Place mixture in wrappers, using 1-2 Tbsp of mixture per wrap. Roll the corner closest to you over the filling. Brush the top corner with water. Fold in the sides and continue rolling the egg roll up until it is closed. Press to seal.

In about a 1/2 inch of oil over moderately high heat, fry egg rolls until golden brown on all sides, using tongs to turn them.

photo 1

One Response to “Egg Rolls”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Baked Egg Rolls | Cooking Is My Sport - February 19, 2014

    […] Egg Rolls […]

Leave a Reply

