Potato Corn Chowder

4 Nov

It snowed yesterday. Sigh. Not sure why I live in Utah when I really don’t like the cold. I think winter is beautiful – I just wish it could look as beautiful about 30^ warmer and last about 3 months shorter. Oh well…at least it waited until after Halloween. And at least I have yummy soup to keep my belly warm. My local market has some fun and festive bread bowl options right now. I though maybe serving soup in a pumpkin shaped roll would excite my kids into forgetting that there are potatoes in this soup. It didn’t work. I guess that means more for me and hubby!

photo 3

Ingredients:

5 pieces of bacon

1/4 cup butter

1/4 cup flour

2 cups milk

2 potatoes, peeled and diced

1 cup sweet corn

1 tsp salt

dash of pepper

In a large frying pan, cook bacon to crisp. Break bacon up into small pieces and set aside. Cover potatoes with water in a pot and heat until potatoes are soft. Drain. In a large pan, make sauce by melting butter and adding flour and milk. Stir until thick. Add potatoes to sauce. Add corn, bacon, salt, and pepper. Heat until thick.

*Tip: Great served in bread bowls!

photo 1

Leave a Reply

