Mozzarella Rolls

1 Nov

Happy Halloween! I have a confession to make. My kids filled their trick-or-treat buckets three times this year: my in-laws always have a Halloween party where the kids bust open a piñata and load up on goodies, our neighborhood does a trunk-or-treat, and then there’s the regular door-to-door stuff on Halloween night. Aka: my kids got a lot of candy. So, here goes my confession…I dumped all of their previously hoarded candy into ziplock bags (so they would actually have room in their buckets for anything more than a Jr. Mint), dutifully writing their names on the bags so that they wouldn’t mix, and sent them on their way with Dad to trick-or-treat. I then went through their bags and re-treated a good selection of their candy to the trick-or-treaters coming to my house. Gasp! I know…kind of a mean mom. I did, in fact, have candy that I had prepared for the costumed cuties roaming the neighborhood, but we really get a lot of trick-or-treaters and I didn’t want to run out. I also didn’t want to deal with having candy coming out of my children’s ears for the next three months. Good news is, they didn’t notice.

Trick or treating started early this year – I think most of the kids wanted to get going before it got frigid outside…I don’t blame them. But that meant that I sent my munchkins out before dinner was ready, plus I didn’t have much time to get anything prepared because I was going back and forth to the door every two seconds. Enter my new favorite thing…egg roll wraps + string cheese. When I finally convinced my kids that eating dinner before gorging themselves on candy was actually a good idea after they got back from trekking round the neighborhood, my four year old reluctantly sat down, took a bite, and said, “Wow, Mom! This is so good! It may be the best ever!” And it took 5 minutes to prepare and 5 minutes to cook. Winner, winner!!! I used deli ham tonight, but pepperoni is really good too – I really see endless possibilities! You can use them as sides – they are perfect finger foods – an after-school snack, or for a quickie dinner on Halloween night. 🙂

photo 2

Ingredients:

egg roll wrappers

string cheese

sliced deli ham, pepperoni, or other filling of choice

On top of an egg roll wrapper, place ham or pepperoni across middle of wrapper – corner to corner leaving enough space to fold top corners inward. Place a piece of string cheese on top. Fold the two top corners over the cheese. Fold unfolded edges over cheese and pepperoni, meeting corners and forming a triangle. Roll until cheese is tightly sealed. Moisten corners with water to seal. Repeat with the rest of wrappers. Deep fry until golden brown or bake at 375^F for 20 minutes or until desired brownness.

*Tip: I tried using only cheese in a few of them and the cheese ended up bubbling out. The meat forms a barrier around the cheese so that when it melts it doesn’t leak out of the folds in the egg roll wrappers.

photo 3

3 Responses to “Mozzarella Rolls”

  1. Family to the 5 Power! November 1, 2013 at 1:00 pm #

    Just recently my daughters and I made a similar recipe with pepperoni. I prefer the idea of using ham, because your photo shows how much nicer they roll and cut with ham! I’m trying it!

    • seden2003 November 2, 2013 at 5:06 pm #

      Yeah, I baked my pepperoni ones and ended up with some leaking cheese, so I worried how they’d hold up with frying. The ham held everything together so nicely!! A little egg roll cordon bleu :).

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Egg Roll Delight from Lola Cions Inc.! | LOLA CIONS INC. - November 2, 2013

    […] Mozzarella Rolls (keepanopenmouth.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

