Italian Crockpot Beef

24 Oct

By far, the best dinner I’ve made in awhile – and that’s saying something because I’ve been using my best recipes lately so I could get them added to the blog! My husband’s work takes them out to lunch every Friday (I made this on a Thurs) and he called after they had had bbq catered: “Your meat was much better.” Score. And it’s crockpot. You just can’t get easier than crockpot. The meat was so-so tender this time around because I didn’t get it in the cooker soon enough – but an hour longer and it would have been fall-apart, melt-in-your-mouth kind of goodness. And the fact that I could completely over look the fact that it didn’t shred as well as I would have liked attests to the fact that the taste is so ridiculously good that it really didn’t matter. Mmmmm…go make it.

photo 1

Ingredients:

3 lb. beef chuck roast

10.5 oz. beef broth, canned

1 oz. au jus, dry mix packet

.7 oz. dressing mix, dry Italian salad dressing mix

1/2 tsp. salt

1/2 tsp. ground black pepper

Place roast into crock pot and pour the beef broth over the meat. Sprinkle the au jus mix, Italian salad dressing mix, salt, and black pepper over the roast. Cover. Cook for 6-8 hours on low or all day, until meat is very tender. Shred, and place meat on bread of choice (I used Kaiser rolls). Top with Provolone Cheese and place under the broiler for a few minutes to brown cheese.

Original recipe found here: http://getcrocked.com/2013/03/11/best-ever-crock-pot-italian-beef/

2 Responses to “Italian Crockpot Beef”

  1. The Vulgar Chef October 25, 2013 at 12:13 am #

    God damn I thought that was an egg on there too I was like whattttttttt!

    • seden2003 October 25, 2013 at 2:47 am #

      Ooh…an egg! That might be pretty tasty. 🙂

Leave a Reply

