Orange Chicken

16 Oct

I think I’m getting old. My kids are famous for not sleeping through the night until I force them to at about 10-11 months – I’ve survived three of these. So how come I am withering away to a state of mental nothingness at only 4 months? Granted, the last few nights my little man has been up way more than usual, but still…I should be able to suck it up. I should be able to function. I should not have these giant holes in my face where my eyes used to be and I really shouldn’t be this crabby. I am forever grateful to the person who decided that makeup wasn’t just for prostitutes and for kids who don’t mind having a down day here and there. And for recipes that can fulfill that Chinese take-out craving without having to actually go out. I may be grateful for the makeup, but I don’t always want to bother putting it on. 🙂

photo 1

Ingredients:

Chicken (Homemade Chicken Nuggets):

4 chicken breast halves

1 beaten egg + 1 Tbsp water

1 1/2 cups flour

Sauce:

1/2 cup orange juice

1/4 cup vinegar

1/2 cup brown sugar

1/4 cup soy sauce

1/2 tsp salt

1 tsp cornstarch

Cut chicken into bite size pieces. Coat in egg wash. Put flour in a zip lock bag and season with salt and pepper or season-all salt to taste. Put chicken pieces in bag of flour and shake until coated. Fry chicken pieces in vegetable oil until cooked through and light brown. Combine last 6 ingredients in medium saucepan and simmer 1 minute until thickened. Place chicken in a shallow baking pan and pour sauce over pieces. Bake at 350^F for 45 min, stirring the chicken to coat occasionally. Serve over rice.

*I like mine more saucy, so I typically double the sauce

photo 3

Leave a Reply

