Best-Ever Cornbread

11 Oct

So, I live in Utah, and Utahan’s sometimes have a funny way of saying things. Case in point: I laugh every time I read this recipe, because whoever added it to our Ward Cookbook, listed one of the ingredients as ‘corn mill.’ Now, I have lived here since I was 9 1/2, but I have yet to, and hope to never, succumb to the spreading epidemic that is the Utah accent. Meal is meal…not mill. Pillow is pillow, not pullow. Any words that drive you crazy in your local-ese?

In addition to the flavorful vernacular, this recipe does produce the best cornbread I’ve ever had – ever. I’ve always liked cornbread, but the texture is often dry and a little grainy. Solution? Make it like cake – literally. I’m sure the nutritional value just skyrockets as soon as you say the word ‘cake mix,’ but it tastes too good to complain. So I won’t.

photo 1

Ingredients:

1 yellow cake mix (prepared per directions on box)

1 cup corn meal

1 cup flour

2 Tbsp sugar

4 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp salt

1 cup milk

1/4 cup shortening

Mix the cake mix per directions on box. Mix all other ingredients and then add to the cake mix. Bake in a greased 9×13 pan at 375^F for 35-45 min.

photo 3

 

Leave a Reply

