No-Cook Vanilla Ice Cream

6 Oct

My husband is an ice cream snob. He prefers plain-Jane vanilla ice cream, and he prefers home-made. I don’t really blame him – home-made is oh, so much better. But I heartily believe that he misses out on a lot of hip-widening goodness (if you’re going to gain 10 lbs, you might as well do it eating as many different flavors as you can find), by limiting himself to one flavor. That being said, nothing beats a really good vanilla for a jumping off point – think of the toppings! I have a recipe that I always use, but it calls for eggs and there is no cooking involved. I’m a cookie dough eater, so I’m not afraid of raw eggs (I have yet to suffer from salmonella poisoning that my mom always threatened would most certainly occur – maybe I’ve built up an immunity…yet another reason one should eat cookie dough), but the texture has not always been quite right for me. It is great straight out of the ice cream maker, but, though I love ice cream, I have yet to manage to polish off an entire batch in one sitting. This means re-freezing, and it always ends up hard as a rock! I tried cooking it – texture was fab. Taste was pretty darn terrible. Ever had egg flavored ice cream? Well now I have, and I don’t recommend it. So, the search was on! I found one I liked and tweaked it a little (when I say ‘a little,’ I mean I made about 5 different batches of ice cream, 3 of which are sitting in my freezer and are so bad that I think they may set up a permanent residence there – so properly appreciate this recipe – I don’t usually put forth so much effort to get it right ;)). Here’s my winner: same great taste, much better behavior in the freezer – the only downside that I found was that it doesn’t hold up straight out of the ice cream maker; you will have to give it time to set in the freezer before serving. I figure it’s an even trade.

photo 2

Ingredients:

3 cups half and half

*for creamier texture, substitue 1 cup milk and 2 cups heavy whipping cream

3/4 cup sugar

1 tsp vanilla extract

pinch of salt

In a large bowl, combine ingredients and mix well until sugar is completely dissolved. Place in ice cream maker and churn according to directions. Allow to set in freezer for at least 2-3 hours before serving.

Leave a Reply

