Baked Creamy Chicken Taquitos

3 Oct

I am in love with these taquitos! I’ve never made taquitos with flour tortillas before, but they were fabulous. I actually had to make them twice because the first time everyone ate them before I could take a picture. ūüôā They are really quick, but I ran into a snag the second time around – no salsa. I usually borrow from my neighbor in a pinch, but she wasn’t home. So, I skipped on over across the street (and when I say ‘I,’ I actually mean I sent my husband and all the kids so I could work on dinner in peace) to ask my other neighbors if they had salsa. No go. But! Hubby came home with all the raw ingredients for salsa that they neighbors had so generously offered. So, with their tomatoes, cilantro, and onion, we added a handful of pitifully small peppers and an ear of sweet corn that our little garden managed to eke out this season, and ended up making some Homemade Salsa¬†to finish things up. They turned out better than ever!

photo 1

Ingredients

1/3 cup (3 oz) cream cheese

1/4 cup salsa (Homemade Salsa)

1 Tbsp fresh lime juice

1/2 tsp cumin

1/4 tsp garlic powder

2 Tbsp chopped cilantro

2 cups shredded cooked chicken

1 cup grated cheese

flour tortillas

Preheat the oven to 425 degrees. Line a baking sheet with foil and lightly coat with cooking spray.¬†Heat cream cheese in the microwave for about 20-30 seconds so it’s soft and easy to stir. Add salsa, lime juice, cumin, and garlic powder and mix well. Add cilantro, chicken and cheese and combine well.¬†Place 3 Tablespoons of chicken mixture on the lower third of a tortilla, keeping it about 1/2 inch from the edges, then roll it up as tight as you can.¬†Place seam side down on the baking sheet. Lay all of the taquitos on the baking sheet and make sure they are not touching each other. Spray the tops lightly with cooking spray.¬†Place pan in oven and bake for 15-20 minutes or until crisp and the ends start to get golden brown. Makes around 12 taquitos.

Adapted from: http://www.the-girl-who-ate-everything.com/2010/04/baked-creamy-chicken-taquitos.html

 

One Response to “Baked Creamy Chicken Taquitos”

  1. americanmommy2013 October 4, 2013 at 4:23 am #

    Reblogged this on A Mom of Many.

Leave a Reply

