Buttercream Frosting

19 Sep

I am not a frosting fan. I like the kinds made with whipping cream and pudding, but regular, sugary frosting makes me gag. Too sweet and the texture is too grainy. My four year old and I make the perfect team when it comes to frosting – she scrapes it all off and I eat what she left – basically everything but the frosting. 🙂 I made this recipe because I had to make something to decorate my cake with, and the whipping cream frosting doesn’t have enough structure to it to write words with – or should I say ‘intelligible’ words. “Happy Birthday” turns into “Blah blah blob blah,” in about two seconds flat. So, I did a little searching, and settled with this recipe, not thinking much about it; only, that it would suit my purposes and that was that. And then, I made the life changing gesture of licking my finger when a little of my frosting spilled. Oh. My. Heavenly. Frosting. It is good – really, really good. I am a frosting convert.

photo-171

Ingredients:

1 cup butter, softened

3 cups powdered sugar

1/2 tsp salt

1 Tbsp vanilla

2 Tbsp heavy cream, or milk

food coloring of your choice

Beat butter until smooth. Add powdered sugar gradually until the sugar has been fully incorporated. Add vanilla, salt, and cream/milk and beat until smooth. Add food coloring if desired.

Original recipe found here: http://www.copykat.com/2012/02/11/cheesecakes-with-buttercream-frosting/

4 Responses to “Buttercream Frosting”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Katie’s Sugar Cookies | keepanopenmouth - September 20, 2013

    […] In a separate, small bowl, add vinegar to evaporated milk and allow to sit. Blend butter, sugar, eggs, and vanilla together until smooth. Add milk mixture to butter mixture and blend well. Add dry ingredients until blended. Make 2-4 large balls of dough. Cover with plastic wrap and place balls of dough in the fridge for at least 1 hour to make it firm. On a lightly floured surface, roll out dough to 1/4″ thickness and use cookie cutters to make shapes. Bake at 425^F for 7-8 minutes. Cookies will not brown – if they start browning too much you will loose the airiness and they will instead be crunchy. Top with Buttercream Frosting. […]

  2. Ice Cream Cake | keepanopenmouth - December 30, 2013

    […] used crushed chocolate filled Oreos for the ‘dirt’ and Buttercream Frosting for the […]

  3. Bakery Cake from a Boxed Mix | keepanopenmouth - February 26, 2014

    […] Frosted with Buttercream Frosting […]

  4. Strawberry Cheesecake Cupcakes | keepanopenmouth - April 22, 2014

    […] being real-life strawberries, which really makes the flavor fresh and Spring-y. I frosted them with Buttercream Frosting, but my neighbor has a spectacular strawberry frosting that I must steal and try with […]

Leave a Reply

