Raspberry/Strawberry Pretzel Dessert

4 Sep

This could probably be considered a guest blog post…considering the fact that I didn’t make this one, nor have I ever. But! I don’t always have an excuse to make big desserts (or I’ll end up eating the whole thing by myself or throwing half of it out), so I have to take advantage of when other people do. 😉 My sister, who’s cookbooks are still packed away from her move, called for the recipe and I gave it to her…on one condition. She had to take pictures. Lucky for us both, she complied. It’s fitting that she made this one since she introduced me to it last Thanksgiving. I’m not always a huge fan of gelatin – flash back to one fateful day at Chuck-a-rama, where a little version of me saw the jello bar…that glorious jello bar, with all those different, shiny flavors…and then my mom told me that I had to finish all the jello I heaped on my plate before I could have ice cream. I tried, I really did. That ended with me sitting by the toilet in the restaurant bathroom. I never did puke, but I came pretty darn close. I wanted that ice cream so bad and I never did get some. I think my mom would have taken pity on me for the effort that I applied to that mountain of jello, but I couldn’t stomach anything afterwards – not even ice cream. It ruined my taste for gelatin for a long while, but I was converted back with this dessert. The pretzels, as out of place as they may seem in a gelatin dish, give that salty-sweet taste and a little bit of a crunch = yum. Someday I may even make myself!

IMG_2505

Crust:

2 1/2 cups crushed pretzels

3/4 c sugar

1.2 c melted butter

Crush pretzels. Set aside 1 cup pretzel crumbs for topping. Combine the rest of the crumbs with butter and sugar. Press into 9×13 baking dish. Bake at 400^F for 7 minutes. Cool.

Filling:

2 8 oz pkg. cream cheese, softened

1 cup powdered sugar

1 12 oz tub cool whip

Whip together cream cheese and sugar. Fold in cool whip. Pour on top of cooled crust. Refrigerate for about 1 hour.

Topping:

1 box raspberry or strawberry Danish Dessert (found in grocery aisle by puddings), Jello, or pie glaze

10 oz frozen raspberries or strawberries, thawed

Prepare Danish Dessert or Jello as directed. Drain syrup off thawed fruit and add fruit to Danish mixture. Stir together. Spread on top of cream cheese layer and refrigerate until set. Sprinkle 1 cup crushed pretzels on top when ready to serve.

 

Leave a Reply

