Homemade Salsa

29 Aug

I helped my neighbor’s daughter sew her wedding dress a few weeks ago. Now, there is one thing you should know about me – I am slightly obsessed with wedding dresses. My husband made a separate account for me on Netflix just so that he could filter out the shows he likes from my wedding shows. I used to have a huge stash of bridal magazines, but I decided to get rid of them when we moved into our current house, having had a sudden desire to purge anything that I could avoid packing. I regretted it almost immediately. I regretted it even more when my sister got engaged and I had nothing to go to for inspiration. Luckily, my mom’s neighbor took pity on me, and since she happened to get a couple of different magazines for free, my stash started to grow again…I am never throwing them away again. If I could convince my husband to marry me every year (not that he wouldn’t marry me again, he just doesn’t love wedding stuff quite as much as me :)), I might die of happiness getting to have a new wedding dress for every year of our marriage. Sigh. I love wedding dresses. But that’s another blog for another day…

So any who! Because I helped with the dress, my neighbor, who has a stellar garden, paid me in produce. I really just did it for love of wedding dresses, but I took the produce gratefully! I ate the entire cantaloup by myself – I’m not kidding either. Everyone else got one bite. To be fair, I did warn them that if they didn’t take advantage of such a delicious cantaloup then I would eat it all. And I did. I did the same to the honeydew. The peppers and tomatoes I got a little stuck on. I’m the only tomato eater in my house, and I knew I couldn’t eat 6 tomatoes plus a ton of cherry tomatoes all by myself before they went bad. And what do you do with 8 jalepeno peppers and a big bunch of banana peppers? I am a wuss when it comes to spicy things, so I have a hard time doing anything with peppers. After looking at all this beautiful produce sitting purposelessly on my counter for way too long, I knew it was time…time for some serious salsa improvisation. This recipe is super loose because I honestly can’t remember what exactly I put in – but it turned out so much better than I expected. As long as you have some great garden goods and stick to the seasonings in this recipe, you can use your creativity and taste to customize your own salsa.

Homemade Salsa

Ingredients:

8 jalepeno peppers (for spicy, keep seeds – for mild, remove seeds and inner membranes)

5 banana peppers

1 pt yellow cherry tomatoes

6 smaller tomatoes

1 clove garlic, minced

1/4 tsp sugar

1/4 tsp salt

1/4 tsp ground cumin

1/2 cup cilantro

1/2 Tbsp lime Juice

Chop peppers and tomatoes so that they blend easier then combine all ingredients in a food processor or blender and pulse until you reach the desired consistency – less if you like chunky, more if you don’t like the chunks. Chill and serve.

*Adapted from original recipe: http://thepioneerwoman.com/cooking/2010/01/restaurant-style-salsa/

3 Responses to “Homemade Salsa”

  1. seden2003 October 3, 2013 at 8:27 pm #

    Just as an update! I made my second batch of salsa the other day with only 2 tomatoes, a half cup or so of cilantro, a handful of small peppers, and some sweet corn. I pureed everything together in a blender with the seasonings from this recipe, and even though it was a smaller batch (should have thought of that when I was making it and made adjustments, but who thinks of that until after the fact? not me apparently) it turned out really good! Just goes to show – good recipes are even better when they can be flexible!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Baked Creamy Chicken Taquitos | keepanopenmouth - October 3, 2013

    […] ear of sweet corn that our little garden managed to eke out this season, and ended up making some Homemade Salsa to finish things up. They turned out better than […]

  2. Baked Creamy Chicken Taquitos | keepanopenmouth - October 3, 2013

    […] ear of sweet corn that our little garden managed to eke out this season, and ended up making some Homemade Salsa to finish things up. They turned out better than […]

Leave a Reply

