Lower-Fat Alfredo

8 Aug

I exercised tonight – sweated it out for a good half hour, drank tons of water…and then promptly ate some Oreos. So, in penance, I’m posting something low-fat. 🙂 Well, low-er fat! The funny thing is though, I really don’t like the full-fat version of this recipe. It’s too buttery for me. So, I only make the lower-fat version based on taste and not nutrition (Oreos people…after exercising…). It’s way better than the jarred version of Alfredo you can buy at the grocery store, it’s simple to make, and you can eat a few Oreos with it and not feel as guilty. Win – Win if you ask me!

photo-83

Ingredients:

1 Tbsp butter

1 Tbsp flour

1 cup milk

1 cup cream

3/4 tsp salt

1/4 tsp pepper

3/4 cup fresh Parmesan cheese, grated

Melt butter in medium saucepan. Add flour and cook, stirring constantly, 1 minute. Whisk in milk, cream, salt, and pepper. Bring to a gentle boil, stirring constantly. Reduce heat and simmer, stirring occasionally, 4 minutes. Stir in Parmesan cheese and heat through – do not boil. Yield – 4 servings.

2 Responses to “Lower-Fat Alfredo”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Chicken Alfredo Lasagna Rolls | keepanopenmouth - August 8, 2013

    […] lasagna noodles 2 ½ cups alfredo sauce https://keepanopenmouth.wordpress.com/2013/08/08/lower-fat-alfredo/ 2 cups cooked, shredded chicken oregano garlic salt 3 cups shredded Mozzarella, or cheese of your […]

  2. Creamy Chicken Alfredo Lasagna | keepanopenmouth - March 4, 2014

    […] lot, it was a little heavy on the cream cheese for me. Next time, I think I’ll try it with my Lower-Fat Alfredo sauce and see which one I like […]

Leave a Reply

