Massaman Curry

23 Jul

I need a new car. We have four kids and our car seats seven. Now, you don’t have to be a math whiz to figure out that we do, in fact, have enough seats to fit everyone in our family – that’s not the problem. The problem is that, in order to fit everyone in our family including their carseats, my two year old and my four year old have to sit next to each other…in the back…alone…and they can touch each other. Heaven forbid. The amount of screaming that comes from that back seat is kind of ridiculous. My kids love each other, just not when they have to sit next to each other. Now for the real problem: I don’t think they make a car that would suit our needs. I like having my oldest next to the baby – she is such a big help when he gets fussy; but in any car layout, besides a big beastly suburban or van, that always leaves the other two next to each other. I made the comment to my sister that maybe we should just drive a motorhome around like my mom did when we were kids (yes – I said motorhome…that was our family car). To which she heartily responded, “Oh no, do not do that to your kids!” I always thought it was kind of cool – there was a special ‘high seat’ that I could see out of the window if it was my turn (we usually fought over it – I even got bit by my little sister one time because she wanted it, but I got it because she bit me 🙂 = Justice). Plus we had a bathroom with us all the time. Can you say ‘convenient?’ But I was young. Apparently, when kids ask you if you’re leaving on vacation every time you get picked up from school, it gets kind of embarrassing. So, I guess motorhome is out. I’m up for suggestions.

And because Thai food has everything to do with cars (is there even such a thing as a Thai manufactured car?) – I bring you, Massaman Curry. I like to make it with sweet potatoes, but it is good with regular potatoes also. You can substitute the chicken for beef as well. Just adjust the cooking time a bit because beef takes longer to stew. Enjoy!

photo-68

Ingredients:

1 can coconut milk

2 Tbsp red curry paste

1 cup water

4 Tbsp sugar

1 Tbsp salt

dash of cinnamon

1 lb chicken, cubed (or beef)

1 cup potatoes, cubed

1/2 cup cashews

Heat coconut milk and curry paste in a pot over medium heat and stir – break up the paste and mix well with coconut milk. Stir constantly to keep mixture from sticking. When you see the red oil bubbling up (about 5 min), add meat and stir to cover meat with curry. Add 1 cup water or enough to cover all the meat. Add the rest of the ingredients, except potatoes and cashews. Stew until meat is cooked through. Add potatoes and cashews (you can wait and simply top your curry with cashews when you are ready to serve) and let simmer 20 min more. The liquid should be reduced, but if it is very low, add more water. Serve over warm rice.

Leave a Reply

