Biscuit Dough Donuts

16 Jul

My grandparents celebrated their birthday’s this week – my grandma on the 14th and my grandpa today, the 16th. He is turning 95, and she would have been celebrating 93 – she passed away at the end of January this year. I miss her laugh and her voice. My grandpa is cranky and opinionated and is the scariest driver – who gave him a license anyways? 😉 – and I love him to death. I think he has struggled more than he wants to admit from the loss, but I know he has gained a greater appreciation for what they had together since she has been gone. My parents took the opportunity to make the drive to be with him on his birthday and they had dinner the other night with my cousins at the Ranch Enchilada (it was the Whole Enchilada when I was a kid, and I still have a hard time calling it anything else!), and today did breakfast at IHOP. My grandpa made the comment that he doesn’t know how other restaurants stay open when there is an IHOP. 🙂 I wish I could have been there too. One thing about death, as sad as it is, it has a funny way of reminding us how important those still here are. I am so grateful for my family – for my parents and my sisters, and my cousins who we reconnected with over our stay there for the funeral. For my sweet grandpa who gives hugs like he never did before, and has learned to say things like, “Thank you” and “I was wrong” because of the new appreciation he has gained for life and those he loves.

In honor of my grandma, I made her ‘homemade’ donuts. At her funeral, everyone talked about making donuts with Grandma. You could count on two things at her house – grapefruit and  donuts. I’m on the younger side of all the grandkids, and I had never known that she made donuts! We always had deli pastries or store bought donuts (the grapefruit never went anywhere…I’m sure she’s still having one for breakfast every morning!). But in all my years, I don’t think I saw her use the kitchen once, except the little toaster oven to warm the pastries. So, I was excited to get the recipe for these famous donuts and try them out. I laughed out loud when my cousin sent me the recipe. Biscuit dough – so easy, and so Grandma. 🙂 She would punch the hole in the middle with the lid of a salt shaker. I’m going to have to get one, just for tradition’s sake. They really are super yummy! I was expecting them to taste more bicuit-y, but they are light and perfect and literally take 5 minutes to make. Thanks, Grandma! Love you and miss you.

photo-59

Ingredients:

Cooking oil

Refrigerated biscuit dough

Icing or sugar to coat

Pour about 2″ of cooking oil into a large pot and preheat to about 350^F – be careful not to overheat. Open cylinder of biscuits, remove and separate into individual biscuits. Poke holes in the middle of each biscuit with finger, knife, or salt shaker lid :). Carefully place biscuits into hot oil and cook until bottom is golden brown, then flip and cook other side. Remove from oil with a slotted spoon and allow to drain on paper towels until cool. Top with icing or roll in sugar – granulated or powdered. Repeat for donut holes.

photo-60

 

 

Leave a Reply

