Barbecued Ribs

14 Jul

I was originally going to make these ribs for dinner last Wednesday so I started marinating them that morning (a huge feat for me considering it took me two days to remember I wanted to make ribs in the first place). But then my husband had an early Scouting activity that was going to run late, so I decided to save the ribs and do something simpler for just me and the kids. Thursday rolled around and I thought, “An extra day of marinating! Those ribs will be so flavorful!” Then, I remembered that the gallery featuring my mother-in-law’s art was having its grand opening of the exhibit, which, of course, we wanted to support – so it ended up being fast food on the way home. Day three! I decided no more messing around – into the crock pot, first thing in the morning. We were going to have ribs or bust! Turns out it was a bust. šŸ™‚ I completely forgot about our ward/neighborhood party at the local splash pad. Give your kids the option of playing at the splash pad while they have dinner, or ribs and ten times out of ten I’m pretty sure they’ll go with the splash pad. Baby and I stayed home while the other four headed off for some fun (he voted for naps over splash pad and ribs)…and I had ribs for dinner. And the dog got the bones.

photo-57

Ingredients:

2 lbs country style pork spareribs

2 quarts water

1 bay leaf

1 onion, quartered

1 (18 oz) bottled prepared barbecue sauce OR 2 cups Homemade BBQ Sauce

1/4 cup brown sugar

1 medium onion, sliced

4 oz mushrooms, sliced

1 medium green pepper, sliced

Trim excess fat from spareribs, then place in 6-quart sauce pan with water, bay leaf, and onion. Simmer over medium heat for 30 minutes. Remove ribs and discard broth. Place ribs back in saucepan with BBQ sauce and brown sugar. Cover and simmer over medium heat for 30 minutes until tender. Add sliced onion and mushrooms and cook for 5 minutes more. Stir in green pepper slices and cook just until crisp-tender.

*I cheat a little…ok a lot…when I make ribs. I don’t always have time to do all the prep, so I marinate in BBQ sauce and throw them in the crock pot on low and let them cook 6 or so hours. They end up fall-off-the-bone tender and are much faster! Also, my husband is not an onion, mushroom, or pepper eater so that’s why there are none in the picture of the dish I prepared. šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

