Banana Bread

11 Jul

My basement smells like a dead crawdad – and I wish that was a metaphorical statement…although I guess it’s more of a simile because I used ‘like.’ My AP English teacher would be so proud. If you are wondering what dead crawdad smells like, it is not pleasant. If you are wondering why it smells like dead crawdad, it most certainly is not because my oh-so-adventerous-and-animal-loving husband came home from a Scout campout with twelve crawdads in a bucket (there of course had not been fifteen previous to them eating three for dinner), for the express purpose of raising a little crawdad family in the pond in our backyard. Three crawdads did not die in the pond seeing as how they were put in there too early and got too cold. The rest of the crawdads did not in fact kill each other despite my husband’s best efforts, leaving one solitary crawdad in the tank in our basement. And of course, my husband has better judgement than to put the last crawdad standing into our regular fish tank where he might make a meal of one of our frogs while my children stood around the tank screaming, “Dad! The crawdad is eating the frog! Save him!” (subsequently frog #2 was rescued in this hypothetical situation, only to die a week later…my husband blames it on old age, I think he was traumatized). So, of course I did not insist upon the removal of said crawdad, along with my four year old who reminded me to remind Daddy that he needed to move the crawdad because it was “freaking them out.” So, the crawdad was not banished to the basement tank once again, where I assume he began to feel guilty for murdering a poor, defenseless frog and stopped eating all together. And lastly, I did not find a floating, very moldy looking crawdad a couple of days later. In short – how on earth do you get dead crawdad smell out of your basement? Bake banana bread.

I stole this recipe from my roommate in college, which she stole from her grandma. If it’s made by a grandma, you know that is has to be good. So far, I have yet to find a banana bread recipe that comes even close to this one. I love when there’s a little bit of crunch to the top – crunch isn’t the right word…but it’s the best I can come up with. A little trick to preserve that ‘crunch,’ – don’t cover the bread with anything more than a paper towel or light cloth until it is completely cooled, otherwise it softens everything up. Still yummy, but missing the best part!

photo-44

Ingredients:

3 eggs

2 cups sugar

1 cup vegetable oil

2 cups mashed bananas (about 3 medium sized bananas)

3 tsp vanilla

3 cups flour

1 tsp salt

1/2 tsp baking powder

1 tsp baking soda

Preheat oven to 325^F. Sift together dry ingredients and set aside. Lightly beat eggs then add oil and sugar until combined. Add mashed bananas and vanilla. Add dry ingredients and mix well. Pour batter into two greased bread pans. Bake for 1 hour or until golden brown, the top springs back, and a toothpick test comes out clean.

*For extra flavor fun – try adding blueberries! I underestimated how many I should add, so this loaf is a little berry-shy…next time I will put in a few more scoops.

photo-45

 

Leave a Reply

