Alice Springs Chicken

10 Jul

I made ice cream for dinner last night. Well, I guess I made ice cream instead of dinner last night. Unless you can count boiling eggs as preparing dinner. Now, before you pass too quick a judgement – no, I did not feed my family only boiled eggs (my kids would have been excited, but I personally hate boiled eggs) – we made Chef Salad. You have to have at least a few nights a week where dinner requires no more than five minutes of prep! Our Chef Salads, though pretty darn tasty, aren’t going to make the cut for the blog because I really don’t need a recipe to whip one of those up. My ice cream, on the other hand, will…but I haven’t taken pictures yet :). You’ll have to wait for that one (coconut banana! – you can’t wait, I know…patience…I’m sure I’ll have some today and I’ll do my best to take a picture before I eat it all). Luckily, I cook more often than I manage to blog, so I have a few recipes waiting in the wings for such an occasion as this.

Ever been to Outback Steakhouse? Ever been to Outback Steakhouse and ordered something other than steak? If you have, you can join the ranks of those of us who have tasted the heaven that is Alice Springs Chicken – yum.

photo-40

Ingredients:

4 pieces skinless, boneless chicken breasts

6 pieces bacon – fried crisp

1/2 tsp Lowry’s season-all

1 cup sliced mushrooms

3 cups shredded cheese – Cheddar, Colby, or Monterey Jack

honey mustard

Preheat oven to 350^F. Rub chicken breasts with season-all and set aside to marinate for 1 hour. While breasts are marinating, fry bacon crisp and drain (or, you can save the bacon grease and use it to cook the chicken in – it gives a little extra flavor). Shred cheese and set aside. Take chicken from marinade and sautĂ© on medium heat in pan with just enough oil to prevent sticking. Cook on both sides until a slight, golden color and cooked in the middle. Remove from pan. Place chicken in oven-safe pan and cover with honey mustard. Cover with layer of mushrooms, three slices of back, and then cover each piece with cheese. Bake in oven until cheese is melted – 15-20 minutes. Serve over rice.

*You can also add chopped artichoke hearts!

Honey Mustard:

1/2 cup prepared mustard

1/4 cup honey

1/4 cup light corn syrup

1/4 cup mayonnaise

Blend all together until completely smooth and free from lumps.

Leave a Reply

