Fresh Strawberry Pie

6 Jul

Two days late…but, Happy 4th! We spent the holiday out of range of cell phones or internet, so my post is a bit tardy. My parents bought my great-grandmother’s house in a little mining town called Eureka about ten years ago – and when I say ‘little mining town’ I mean ‘little.’ The first time I went there I was about thirteen or fourteen. We went with my grandpa, who was raised there. We were going to go on a bus tour of the old mines (they ran out of silver quite awhile ago) and were all sitting outside the town museum waiting to get going. We saw the same three cars drive by about twenty-five times…and I’m not exaggerating. When there are new people in Eureka everyone knows, and apparently they wanted to get a good look. πŸ™‚

Great-grandma’s house was a bit of a mess when it came back to the family. It was filled with crickets – Mormon crickets to be exact. If you know anything about Mormon history, you know that these crickets are super human! If you don’t know anything about Mormon history, the term doesn’t hold reference to Mormon’s themselves being like huge, nasty, invasive crickets :)…way back when the Pioneers were settling the valley, their crops were being eaten by said crickets. After much prayer, the miracle of the seagulls occurred – a huge flock of the birds came down and ate all the crickets, saving the much needed crops. Hence, Mormon crickets, and why Utah’s state bird is the seagull. Didn’t know I was a history buff, did you? πŸ˜‰ So anyways!! Lots of crickets in the house, lots of really bad decorating and ugly paint. Nasty carpet, smelly cellar…you get the idea.I personally suffered from an entire day’s worth of what I’m pretty sure was black lung after cleaning out old insulation from the cellar. But after a lot of TLC, Grandma’s house is one of our favorite places to go. They’ve got a couple 4-wheelers stashed up there, a little play set for the kids, and with the addition of a new hammock and big-kid swing this year, I think there’s little else we can do to improve the place. I had someone ask me once what we do up there, and I had to pause and think before truthfully answering, “Nothing, really.” It is nice to have a place, a little remote but not so far that you can’t justify running up for the weekend, that is quiet and away from the real world. My kids call it “My-reka.” My oldest started that – she hears Eureka as “Your-reka,” so whenever someone asked if she wanted to go to “Your-reka” she assumed that meant the Reka was hers. We get variations depending on the context: “Her-reka,” “Our-reka,” etc. She can read now, so I’m just waiting for that dreaded day when she figures it out.

Nothing says 4th of July to me more so than fresh strawberry pie! My mom put this Β one together, and I cheated and took pictures. Hers are always prettier than mine. Of course, she cheated a little and bought a frozen pie crust ;); but, even though love me a good, homemade crust, they are a pain to make! And mine always shrink! They look so nice before I bake them, but something happens in that oven…guess I need to work on my technique. I digress… This pie is the best you will ever taste, and when we got up to Eureka, it was the first thing I scoured the fridge for – only to find it wasn’t there!!! Apparently, feeding three families requires brining more food than a little Eureka fridge can hold. Something had to give and it ended up being the pie. 😦 I’m still waiting for a piece.

photo-42

Ingredients:

1 cup water

3/4 cup sugar

2 Tbsp cornstarch

2 Tbsp Karo syrup

4 Tbsp strawberry Jello

4 drops foor coloring

Mix sugar and cornstarch (this will help to avoid clumping) in medium saucepan. Add water and Karo. Simmer over medium heat until thick and clear. Add Jello and food coloring. Allow mixture to cool to room temperature. Cut up fresh strawberries and stir into cooled mixture. Pour into prepared pie crust and refrigerate until set. Top with whipped cream and enjoy!

*Another yummy substitute for this recipe is fresh peaches in place of strawberries. Also replace the strawberry Jello with peach flavor.

IMG_8974

Leave a Reply

