German Pancakes

3 Jul

This blog is getting to my subconscious. The last two nights I have had dreams about my recipes – and that is impressive because my baby has not been sleeping well, which means I have not been sleeping well. I’ve had barely enough time to close my eyes, let alone dream! The first one was about the Sugar Cookie Bars. My aunt was apparently preparing to feed a lot of people and needing an easy dessert. I pitched that baby to her like a used car salesman! That’s some serious recipe love, my friends. Last night, it was lasagna. The ironic thing is that lasagna isn’t even on the blog menu right now…maybe my subconscious is trying to tell me something. The great thing about my lasagna dream was that I was apparently some sort of spy or secret agent – I was also apparently attending a potluck that required me to bring an entree. It’s hard to balance one’s super secret life of espionage and make dinner as well, so I did what any self-respecting agent would do – I broke into someone’s home to bake my lasagna and fought off six bad guys as I carried the hot pan back out to my awaiting escape vehicle. And I’m not even making this up. I have a pretty potent imagination. I made it out without spilling a drop, only to find that the other lasagna I had stashed in the trunk (doesn’t everyone carry around a spare lasagna in their trunk?) had been dumped upside down leaving a mess of marinara and noodles everywhere. I blame the get away driver. And on that note! Today’s recipe is German pancakes, or as my kids call it, “eggs with syrup” (real original, I know). It’s breakfast food, but I tend to make breakfast for every meal except breakfast. 🙂

photo-34

Ingredients:

6 Tbsp butter

6 eggs

2 Tbsp sugar

1 cup flour

1 cup milk

1/2 tsp salt

Preheat oven to 380^F. Melt butter in 9×13 baking dish in oven while oven is heating. Mix all ingredients. When butter is melted, pour batter into baking dish. Cook for 20-25 min. The sides of the pancakes will rise high above the edges so make sure your racks are low enough in the oven to accommodate. Serve with Lemon Syrup

photo-33

One Response to “German Pancakes”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Tasty Tuesday: Apfelkuchen | EF Foundation for Foreign Study Mid-Atlantic - July 30, 2013

    […] German Pancakes (keepanopenmouth.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

