Summer Salad

30 Jun

Not sure why, but I lose my appetite when it’s hot. I just don’t feel like eating much. Snacking I can do, but full meals? Blah. We have been enjoying a heat wave in these parts (I have to remember that I was craving this kind of weather a few months ago when the snow didn’t seem to want to go away!), so lately, my creative dinner juices have just not been flowing. I have one little munchkin that loves salads and she begged me to buy some lettuce on our last trip to Costco. Costco sized lettuce means that you have to make a serious effort to eat salad…a lot…before it goes bad. Luckily, this Summer Salad hit the spot for all of us – light and fresh for me, full of lettuce for her and my Costco stash. I don’t have too many measurements for the ingredients – I usually have small bowls filled with optional toppings and let everyone make up their own. So have fun with this one! But make sure not to skip out on the candied pecans – there can never be enough of those on my plate!

photo-37

Ingredients:

Lettuce

1 or 2 diced apples

Cooked chicken – cubed or shredded

Candied Pecans

Craisins

*Grapes and strawberries are also a great addition

Toss together and top with dressing

Candied Pecans:

1/2 cup pecans

1/4 cup sugar

To make the candied pecans, pour the sugar in a small skillet and pour the pecans on top. Cook over medium heat until sugar melts and turns a caramel color stirring constantly so that the nuts and sugar do not burn. Once the sugar turns a caramel color coat keep stirring to coat the pecans with it. Pour pecans onto greased wax paper or aluminum foil to cool. Once pecans are cooled, break them into pieces. I usually double this – I like a lot of pecans 🙂

Honey Red Wine Vinaigrette Dressing:
1/2 cup red wine vinegar
1/2 cup honey
1-2 cloves garlic
1 teaspoon Kosher salt
1 teaspoon coarsely ground black pepper
1/2 cup canola oil
In a blender, combine vinegar, honey, garlic, salt, and pepper. Place lid on blender and blend on high. While blender is running, add oil in a steady stream. Store in refrigerator for about 2-3 weeks. Shake well before serving.
Leave a Reply

