Mac and Cheese

28 Jun

This is a staple at my house. Way better than the boxed stuff, and just as easy to make – my picky eaters snarf it down and it is fast for those summer nights when you suddenly realize its 8:00 and you haven’t fed your kids (this has never happened to me…ever). The recipe calls for more pepper than I like to use – the first time I made it fir my kids, they said it was too spicy, and the next ten times I tried to feed it to them they wouldn’t eat ‘the spicy noodles!’ They came around eventually. Now I just pepper to taste. I made this last night – on top of having a 2 week old baby, I had the brilliant idea to potty train my two year old. Not sure what possessed me. But, yesterday was day three and going pretty well, considering the fact that it is potty training and that’s really all you can ask for. But, after cleaning up a million and a half pee accidents, I needed something fast and easy for dinner – something that no one could call ‘yucky’ and push away. Mac and cheese to the rescue! It’s a good thing too…while it was baking, I caught said two year old doodling on the couch and throw pillows with a pen! So, since dinner was already worked out, I could dish up plates and feed their little faces while I wiped the tears from mine and scrubbed the couch.

photo-23

Preheat oven to 350^F

Prepare elbow macaroni (can use any kind of noodles – this is a grab and dump what you have kind of recipe!) – enough to fill a 9×13 baking dish – in boiling water until soft.

White Sauce:

4 Tbsp butter

4 Tbsp flour

2 cups milk

1 tsp salt

1 tsp pepper (or to taste)

Melt butter in medium sized sauce pan. Add flour and cook over medium heat until light brown in color (a couple of minutes). Slowly add milk. Add salt and pepper and stir constantly until thickened. Add to noodles and place in 9×13 baking dish. Top with grated cheddar cheese. Bake for 15-20 minutes until cheese is melted and bubbly.

One Response to “Mac and Cheese”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Cheeseburger Casserole | keepanopenmouth - September 17, 2013

    […] the same every time, even if I don’t do it the same every time. This is second only to my Mac and Cheese when it comes to my kids’ favorite meals. Funny how they love the things that take no time […]

Leave a Reply

